A new clean foundation for mathematics

• A new clean foundation for mathematics

Posted by Steffen on February 29, 2024 at 5:47 pm

Abstract. I have been working on this maths system for a while, it’s not fully finished, but I think it’s mature enough at its core to be presentable. It is still not rigorously defined, but that should be easy with a bit of more effort. I had watched Mr. Kuykendall’s interviews with David de Hilster a year or two ago. I have been programming for 14 years now (more than half my life), and I am currently designing a CPU ISA, which forces me to define the behaviour of mathematical operations and the semantics of what is and isn’t a number. I initially was only dissatisfied with the integer division by 0 being forbidden, which prompted me to re-examine how I approach maths. I also philosophically reject Cantor’s set theory because he posits that you can count infinite things and arrive at a result, and that counting different infinite things has different results. So I ended up having to re-define maths and Mr. Kuykendall’s work did end up being very useful as a reference, so I am posting this here.